13 businesses in and around Hamilton that buy used goods from the
public, or sell them on your behalf. For each one: what they buy, what they refuse, and
exactly how the transaction works — because a pawn loan, a consignment split and an outright
sale are three different things.
Verified 2026-09-24 from each business's own website. Prices, terms and what
they take change without notice. We are not affiliated with any business listed here, none of
them pay to be included, and we receive nothing if you sell to them.
If you are thinking about pawning something
A pawn loan is borrowing, not selling: you get your item back only by repaying the
money plus all interest and fees by the date printed on the ticket, and if you miss that
date the shop keeps the item and sells it.
Before you hand anything over, get three things written on the ticket: the interest
rate, the total redemption figure in dollars, and the deadline. Across all
fourteen cities we checked, almost no pawn shop publishes its rate anywhere on its website —
so the only place you will see it is on the paperwork in front of you.
If you want money and do not want the item back, ask separately for an outright purchase
price and compare the two. They are different numbers for different transactions, and a shop
that offers both will not necessarily volunteer which one it is quoting.
What will they actually pay?
We do not publish an average payout, because nobody publishes one. Any site quoting
you "typically 60% of retail" invented it. Across 189 businesses in fourteen cities, a
handful publish a consignment split, one publishes a per-gram gold table, and not one pawn
shop, scrap yard or electronics buyer publishes what it pays relative to resale value.
What we can tell you is the shape of it. Consignment pays the most and pays last, often on a
declining scale as the item sits. An outright sale pays least and pays today. Metals and gold
are weight times purity minus a spread nobody states, so the only real number is the one at
the scale. And for a great deal of what comes out of a cleared house — flat-pack furniture,
book-club paperbacks, old encyclopedias, out-of-season sports gear, adult clothing more than
a few years old — the honest answer is that nobody in these fourteen cities will pay anything
for it at all. The refusal lists below are the evidence.
Pawn shops in Hamilton
Two completely different transactions under one roof. Read the box above before you go into any of these.
The dealTheir site offers two separate routes. A PAWN LOAN, in their own wording: "After we talk, you get cash on the spot for a 30-day term. All pawn loans come with simple interest fees to get your items back," and "Pay back your 30-day interest-bearing loan to get your property back." That is secured borrowing - the item is collateral held against the loan, not something you have sold. Separately there is a 'Sell an item' route, which is an outright sale: the item is gone and the money is yours. No interest rate, fee schedule or default terms are published anywhere on the site.
Where701 Barton St E, Hamilton, ON L8L 3A5
A pawn loan and a sale are not interchangeable here. Under a pawn loan the shop holds your item and you repay the principal plus interest and fees within the term to get it back; their site does not publish the rate, the total repayment amount, or what happens if you do not repay in time. Ask for all three in writing, on the pawn ticket, before you sign. An outright sale is final and involves no interest.
BuysJewellery - rings, chains, watches, Electronics - TVs, game consoles, laptops, cameras, Power tools - drills, saws, compressors, Cellphones and car audio, Collectibles - action figures, coins, comic books, Guitars and bicycles
The dealTheir site describes a "Fast & Easy Buy-Back Process" - bring in your item, instant assessment, get cash - and tells you to "decide if your looking to sell your item or do a buy-back." That is the full extent of it. The pages on their own site do NOT state pawn-loan terms, an interest rate, fees or a redemption period. What is actually on offer has to be established in person or by phone.
Where501 Main St E, Hamilton, ON L8N 1K8
The business name contains 'Pawn' and the site offers a 'buy-back', but neither loan terms nor a redemption period is published. Before you hand anything over, establish in plain words which transaction you are doing: an outright sale, which is final, or an arrangement where you pay to get the item back, which is borrowing. If it is the second, get the rate, the total you must repay and the deadline in writing. A buy-back price is not the same as the price they paid you.
BuysFurniture - sofas, beds, desks, tables, cabinets, Vintage and antique pieces, Home decor - mirrors, lamps, decorative pieces, Art and rugs
The dealConsignment, not a purchase: they take the item, sell it on the floor, and pay you a share once it sells. You submit photos through the 'Sell Your Items' form on their site (up to five files, 4 MB each) with the age, manufacturer, price paid and where purchased. The split, the consignment period and the markdown schedule are NOT published on their site - they sit in the consignor contract. Their form asks whether you need pick-up and states that if pick-up is required a fee will be established by the delivery company.
Where272 Ottawa Street North, Hamilton, ON
Consignment means no money until the item sells, and it may not sell. Because none of the terms are published, get four things in writing before signing: your percentage, how long the item stays, how and when it gets marked down, and what happens to it if it does not sell. Pick-up is a separate cost arranged through a delivery company.
Won't takeDirty, stained or heavily scented clothing, Bathing suits and bodysuits, Undergarments and sleepwear, Formal gowns - prom, bridal, bridesmaid, Luxury designer labels such as Chanel and Gucci
The dealConsignment with a published split, which is rare and worth knowing: their own wording is "When your item sells, 60% of the price goes to the boutique, and 40% goes to you, the consignor." Consignment runs in seasonal windows - roughly 15 February to 15 July for spring/summer and 15 August to 15 January for fall/winter - and you may drop off ONE bag per window. Funds accumulate in your account as items sell; you can take them as store credit with a 10% bonus, or request a payout of $20 or more by e-transfer or cheque, issued Tuesdays on request. Items they do not take are returned or donated at your choice.
Where226 James Street North, Hamilton, ON
You receive 40% of the selling price, and only after the item sells - there is no payment at drop-off. A cash payout requires a $20 minimum balance and is issued on request, not automatically. They do not take luxury designer labels, so those need a different route.
BuysFine and costume jewellery, Antique and mid-century furniture, Sterling silver, Art, Coins and collectibles, Entire estates
The dealTwo routes. They buy outright from individuals, handling anything from one item to entire estates, and they also run online auctions through an auction allocating service. Their site offers house calls "throughout Hamilton that are respectful and discreet" and describes a "no-fee/charge house call" starting with an appointment. The payment method is not specified, and no auction commission rate is published.
Where72 Charlton Ave W, Hamilton, ON L8P 2C3
An outright purchase and an auction consignment pay differently and on different timelines: a purchase is settled at the time, an auction pays after the sale, less a commission that is not published here. Ask which of the two they are proposing for each item, and what the commission and any lotting or photography charges would be, before anything leaves the house.
They sell it for you to whoever bids. It can beat every other route here, and it can also fetch almost nothing — the price is decided in the room, not by them, and you find out weeks later.
BuysAntiques and antique furniture, Estate contents, from one item to a complete estate, Collectibles, Jewellery, Coins, Commercial goods
The dealTwo routes, both stated on their site. CONSIGNMENT to auction: "Consignments are always welcome - From 1 Item to complete Estates/Collections." OUTRIGHT PURCHASE: "We will purchase your Items outright." They also offer complete estate services including inventory, pack-up, rubbish removal, delivery and storage. No commission rate is published.
WhereDescribes itself as the busiest auctioneer in the Hamilton-Wentworth region for 34 years, with province-wide on-site auction service. No street address is published on their site - contact by phone.
Auction proceeds are settled after the sale at whatever is bid on the day, less commission; an outright purchase is settled at the time. Ask for the commission percentage, the buyer's premium and any lotting, photography or hauling charges, and when payment is issued - those charges determine what you actually clear.
BuysGold, silver and platinum jewellery - rings, earrings, bracelets, necklaces, chains, brooches, Bullion - Canadian and international bars, ingots, rounds and coins, including American Gold Eagles, British Sovereigns and Krugerrands, Scrap gold, silver and platinum, Luxury watches - Rolex, Omega, Tudor, Cartier, Breitling, Patek Philippe, IWC, Audemars Piguet, Collectible coins, Old Canadian paper money
Won't takeSilver items with no recognised hallmark such as 925, STER or Sterling, Larger diamonds and gemstones are not valued on the spot - their site says stones above 0.40 carat have to be appraised before they will make an offer
The dealOutright purchase after an in-person evaluation. Their site describes free evaluations done in your presence with no appointment needed, and states "Our offers are no-obligation and there is never any pressure." No payout percentage of the metal price is published anywhere on their site.
Where1241 Barton Street East, Unit Q4, Hamilton, ON L8H 2V4
Their site states you must be 18 or older and that a valid government-issued photo ID - driver's licence, passport or provincial ID card - is required. Turning up without ID is a wasted trip. Since no payout percentage is published, ask for the offer broken down by weight and karat so you can compare it with another buyer.
BuysGold and platinum jewellery, any condition, Palladium, Dental gold, Broken jewellery, Gold coins and bars, Silver bullion, Watches
Won't takeSilver jewellery, silver flatware and tableware, silver collectibles and silver coinage - their site posts this as a restriction dated 6 February 2026 and describes it as intended to be temporary; silver bullion is still accepted
The dealOutright purchase after evaluation. Their site publishes buying prices per gram and per ounce and states: "Prices are updated every 5 minutes and are the actual prices that you will receive." That is unusually transparent - it lets you weigh an item at home and work out the ballpark before you go.
Where195 Parkdale Ave N, Hamilton, ON L8H 5X3
The silver restriction is dated and described as temporary, so check the site or phone before hauling in flatware. No ID requirement is stated on their site, but other precious-metal buyers in the city require government photo ID, so take it with you.
BuysSteel and iron, Copper and brass, Aluminium, Wire, Other metals and household metals, Batteries, Computer and electronic waste
The dealPublic drop-off under a 'Sell To Us' heading: you bring material to the yard, it is weighed and graded, and you are paid on that basis. The payment method is not specified on the location page.
Where75 Steel City Court, Hamilton, ON L8H 3Y2
Their list includes computer and electronic waste, but material accepted for recycling is not necessarily material they pay for. Ask at the gate which of your items are paid-for materials and which are simply accepted for disposal, before you unload.
The dealA drive-in scrap buyer running a "Sell Scrap for Cash" service for the public: you bring the metal, it is weighed and graded, and you are paid on that basis. Their site has a metal type selector with a calculate button and a full metal price list. The payment method is not stated on the site - confirm by phone if that matters to you.
Where610 Beach Road, Hamilton, ON L8H 3L1
Scrap is paid by weight and grade, not by what the item cost or what it would fetch working. Metal prices move, so a price quoted last week is not a price today. Sorting copper and brass out of a mixed load before you arrive changes what you are paid.
BuysCopper, Brass, Stainless steel, Aluminium, Mixed metals and all grades of scrap metal
The dealTheir site states "Get Paid Cash On The Spot For Your Scrap," weighed on a digital scale, with an inventory tracking system providing up-to-date rates by metal type and grade. They advertise "Local Drop-In Services" for people selling scrap. Their truck and container fleet is described as geared to servicing industry, so household pickup is not an offered service.
Where495 Wentworth St N, Hamilton, ON
Whether they take appliances from the public is not stated on their site; call before loading a fridge or stove into the car. Rates move with the metals market.
BuysCars, running or not, Wrecked and non-running vehicles
Won't takeVehicles with an unresolved lien - their page says that in most cases they cannot buy a vehicle with an active lien, and that ownership and legal transfer requirements must be addressed before pickup and payment
The dealOutright sale of the vehicle. Their site states: "Unlike online marketplaces, we offer free towing and pay top dollar for vehicles, no matter the condition," that they buy vehicles "running, not running, or completely wrecked," and that they bring cash for your car with immediate payment at pickup. No payout figures are published.
Where721 Mud St E, Hamilton, ON L8J 3B8
Ownership and legal transfer have to be sorted before pickup and payment, and an active lien will normally stop the sale - disclose it up front rather than at the tow truck. Get the offer confirmed against your actual vehicle details before the truck is dispatched, and do not hand over the ownership document until you have the money.
BuysScience fiction and fantasy, especially vintage, Philosophy, Beat authors, Spirituality and New Age, Mystery, Specific authors including Vonnegut, Pratchett and Lovecraft
Won't takeEncyclopedias, Reader's Digest condensed books, Ex-library books, Books with underlining or highlighting, Water- or smoke-damaged books, Textbooks, Magazines, Videos
The dealIMPORTANT - this is a trade, not a cash sale, and it is not consignment either. Their site states they do not pay cash in store for used books; you receive trade credit instead. Their stated terms: "75% of your purchase can be credit, 25% has to be cash." Trade credit is valid for one year from the last date on the card, is transferable to friends and family, and cannot be redeemed without the physical slip.
Where852 King St W, Hamilton, ON L8S 1K3
If your goal is money rather than books, this outlet does not meet it: you leave with store credit, not cash, the credit cannot cover a whole future purchase because 25% still has to be paid in cash, and it lapses a year after the last date on the card.
Take government photo ID. Several of these businesses say plainly
that they cannot buy from you without it, and that a health card will not do.
Phone ahead with the specifics. Make, model, age, condition. Most
refusals happen at the counter over something that could have been settled in a
two-minute call.
Get more than one number if the item is worth more than a hundred
dollars or so. Offers on the same item vary widely.
Ask which transaction you are being offered — a purchase, a
consignment or a loan — and get it in writing.
We could not verify this city’s municipal rules for second-hand dealers and pawnbrokers from an official source, so we state none. Check with the City or the province before relying on anything you read about them elsewhere.
Worth nothing? That is a real answer too.
Most of what comes out of a cleared house will not sell at any price, and the businesses above
will tell you so at the counter. Photograph it first and we will tell you before you drive
anywhere — and if the answer is that it is worth nothing, we will point you at
the Hamilton charities that will still take it.
Will a pawn shop in Hamilton give me a loan or buy it outright?
Many do both, and they are entirely different transactions. A loan means you get the item back only if you repay the money plus interest and fees by the date on the ticket; miss it and the shop keeps and sells your item. An outright sale is final. Ask for both numbers separately and compare them.
How much will I actually get?
Less than you think, and nobody publishes a reliable average — we checked 189 businesses across fourteen cities. Consignment pays most and pays last. An outright sale pays least and pays today. Scrap and gold are weight and purity against the day’s market, minus a margin almost nobody states.
Will any of them collect from my house in Hamilton?
Auto salvage almost always tows a non-running car free. Some furniture dealers and consignment shops will collect, usually for a fee or above a minimum value. Scrap yards that advertise collection generally mean a commercial roll-off bin, not a van for a box of copper. Every listing here says what we could confirm and nothing more.
Do I need identification?
Almost certainly, and it is the most common cause of a wasted trip. Several businesses state plainly that government-issued photo ID is required and that a health card will not be accepted. Take a driving licence or passport.
What is genuinely worth nothing?
Flat-pack furniture, most paperbacks, encyclopedias, classical and easy-listening records, out-of-season sports equipment and adult clothing more than a few years old. The refusal lists on this page are the evidence. Those things can still be donated, and often should be.