17 businesses in and around Toronto that buy used goods from the
public, or sell them on your behalf. For each one: what they buy, what they refuse, and
exactly how the transaction works — because a pawn loan, a consignment split and an outright
sale are three different things.
Verified 2026-09-24 from each business's own website. Prices, terms and what
they take change without notice. We are not affiliated with any business listed here, none of
them pay to be included, and we receive nothing if you sell to them.
If you are thinking about pawning something
A pawn loan is borrowing, not selling: you get your item back only by repaying the
money plus all interest and fees by the date printed on the ticket, and if you miss that
date the shop keeps the item and sells it.
Before you hand anything over, get three things written on the ticket: the interest
rate, the total redemption figure in dollars, and the deadline. Across all
fourteen cities we checked, almost no pawn shop publishes its rate anywhere on its website —
so the only place you will see it is on the paperwork in front of you.
If you want money and do not want the item back, ask separately for an outright purchase
price and compare the two. They are different numbers for different transactions, and a shop
that offers both will not necessarily volunteer which one it is quoting.
What will they actually pay?
We do not publish an average payout, because nobody publishes one. Any site quoting
you "typically 60% of retail" invented it. Across 189 businesses in fourteen cities, a
handful publish a consignment split, one publishes a per-gram gold table, and not one pawn
shop, scrap yard or electronics buyer publishes what it pays relative to resale value.
What we can tell you is the shape of it. Consignment pays the most and pays last, often on a
declining scale as the item sits. An outright sale pays least and pays today. Metals and gold
are weight times purity minus a spread nobody states, so the only real number is the one at
the scale. And for a great deal of what comes out of a cleared house — flat-pack furniture,
book-club paperbacks, old encyclopedias, out-of-season sports gear, adult clothing more than
a few years old — the honest answer is that nobody in these fourteen cities will pay anything
for it at all. The refusal lists below are the evidence.
Pawn shops in Toronto
Two completely different transactions under one roof. Read the box above before you go into any of these.
BuysGold jewellery, precious gems and gold coins, Luxury watches, Electronics, Tools, Musical instruments, Generators and other large items, Bicycles and motorcycles
The dealThe clearest published pawn terms found in Toronto. PAWN LOAN: the site states "Interest is 2% per month simple interest"; the loan "is redeemed by payment of principle, plus interest & applicable service charges on or before the one year anniversary date", and "may be renewed by payment of interest & applicable service charges" by the same date. It states "We do not have a maximum cash limit for loans". ID rule is explicit: "Government ID required, other than Health Card". OUTRIGHT PURCHASE: the same page states they "purchase and make collateral loans on" gold jewellery, precious gems, luxury watches and gold coins — both transactions on the same goods.
WhereTwo shops: Dundas West Pawnbrokers, 2951 Dundas Street West, Toronto ON M6P 1Z2 (416-767-5833); and The Pawnshop, 1814 Danforth Avenue, Toronto ON M4C 1H8 (416-465-1968). Mon-Fri 10am-7pm, Sat 10am-6pm, closed Sundays and holidays.
2% per month is a monthly rate, not an annual one — carried simple over the full twelve-month term that is 24% of the principal in interest, before any service charges on a renewal. If the ticket is not redeemed by the anniversary date the item is forfeited. A health card will be turned away at the counter; bring a driver's licence or passport.
BuysGold, silver and diamond jewellery, Rings, chains and watches, Smartphones, Guitars, Cameras, Speakers, turntables and headphones
The dealTwo different transactions, and the site treats them separately. PAWN LOAN: a collateral loan on contracts "that are good for up to 1 year", with "No duration minimums, no early payment penalties." The site publishes its cost of borrowing — "48% APR on all loan principals below $999" and "35% APR on all loan principals above $1000" — and gives worked examples of $20 interest per month on a $500 loan and $0.95 interest per day on a $1,000 loan. On default the site states "the item(s) will be put out for sale". To redeem you bring your ticket and a copy of your government-issued ID. OUTRIGHT SALE: there is a separate Sell page and the site states "we take gold, jewellery, guitars, cameras, cellphones and more", but publishes no purchase terms. Ask for the purchase price and the loan offer as two separate numbers.
Where837 Danforth Avenue, Toronto, ON M4J 1L2
Pawning is borrowing, not selling: if the contract defaults the item is put out for sale and you do not get it back. Use the shop's own published example to see the cost — they state $20 interest per month on a $500 loan. Government-issued ID is needed and the site states health cards are not accepted.
The dealTheir site asks you to "Simply decide if your looking to sell your item or do a buy-back" — an outright sale, or an arrangement under which you get the item back. NOTHING about the buy-back side is published: no interest rate, no term, no fee, no statement of what happens if you do not return. No ID requirement is published either. The value of this entry is geographic — it is the Brampton option.
WhereBrampton: 73 Main Street N (905-497-7296). Hamilton: 501 Main St E (289-389-0757). The site claims "We have multiple location across the GTA" but lists no Toronto address and no third location.
A "buy-back" is not the same as a sale — you are getting the item back only on terms the site does not publish anywhere. Before agreeing to one, ask for the cost, the deadline and what happens on default, in writing. The homepage claims GTA locations it does not list, so confirm the branch and its hours before travelling.
BuysJewellery, Computers and electronics, Power tools, Musical instruments, Video games, Home audio
The dealBuys, sells, trades and lends. PAWN LOAN: the ticket is "valid for one year", during which you may return to repay the loan plus any fees, or renew. The site states plainly what happens otherwise: "If you're unable to repay the loan or don't return within the year, the item will become the legal property of Queenglad Pawnbrokers and be sold at a reasonable rate." It advertises "zero lending limits on instant cash loans" and claims "some of the lowest interest rates in the GTA" but publishes NO rate — none is stated here because none is published. OUTRIGHT SALE is offered on the same categories. No ID requirement is stated on their site.
Where1200 Queen St W, Toronto, ON M6J 1J6
"Some of the lowest interest rates in the GTA" is a marketing claim with no number published behind it. Get the rate, the fees and the total cost to redeem written on the ticket before handing anything over. Forfeiture of an unredeemed item after one year is stated on their own site.
The dealLOANS ONLY on the strength of their own site. They state "We offer low-interest loans on everything from jewellery to estate items" and offer seasonal storage of pledged items such as golf clubs. Nowhere on the site do they say they will buy an item outright — if you want a sale rather than a loan, phone first. No interest rate, no redemption period and no ID requirement is published. The site states "We do not offer payday loans." Licensed pawnbroker on Church Street since 1950.
Where145 Church St., Toronto, ON M5B 1Y4
This is a lender, not a buyer, as far as their own site goes — arriving expecting to sell is likely to be a wasted trip. "Low-interest" is their own uncosted word; no rate and no redemption period appear anywhere on the site, so get both in writing on the ticket. An unredeemed pledge is forfeited.
BuysiPhones and other phones, MacBooks and laptops, iPads and tablets, Apple Watches, PlayStation and other gaming consoles, Apple, Samsung, Dell and MSI devices, Devices in any condition, including damaged
The dealOutright purchase of used electronics, with three routes: walk into a store, have them collect, or use a free prepaid shipping label. Payment timing is published: "Payment for devices picked up will be made immediatley upon collection", while "For devices shipped to us, payment will be processed and issued within 2 business days upon receipt and inspection of the device." They state they "pay top dollar for many types of electronics, even broken" and accept devices "in any condition", so a cracked or dead unit is still worth a quote. A pick-up service is offered for clients in Toronto. There is also a trade-in-for-credit option, separate from the cash purchase — make clear which you want. No ID requirement is stated on the site.
WhereTwo GTA stores: Scarborough, Unit 2, 1415 Kennedy Rd, M1P 2L6 (647-781-7355); and Downtown Toronto, Unit 11, 384 Yonge St, M5G 2K2 (647-557-5544).
Sign out of your accounts and wipe the device before handing it over. On Apple hardware, leaving Activation Lock enabled means the buyer cannot resell it; their site does not state how they handle that, so clear it first rather than finding out at the counter. Their online estimator is an estimate — the binding number comes after physical inspection, since condition drives it. Note that they offer both a cash purchase and a trade-in credit; confirm which you are being quoted.
BuysPhones and iPhones, Laptops and MacBooks, iPads and tablets, PlayStation, Xbox and Nintendo Switch consoles, Video games, Computer parts, Cameras, headphones, smartwatches and audio equipment
Won't takeItems with no resale value — the site states they "can only pay for items that have resale value"
The dealA storefront buyer, not a mail-in service: bring the device in, they evaluate it, and the site states "If you accept, you'll receive immediate payment in cash – no waiting periods or delayed transactions." You are told to bring "your valid ID". Damaged devices are considered, with condition affecting the valuation. No pickup or collection service is mentioned.
WhereNO store inside Toronto. Brampton: 380 Bovaird Drive East, L6Z 2S1, (289) 948-1810. Kitchener: 945 Victoria Street North, N2B 3C6, (226) 812-1333. Hamilton and Oakville are listed as coming soon.
Despite appearing under a Toronto heading, the nearest branch is Brampton — check the map before driving out from the city centre or the east end. Factory-reset and sign out of every device first; an account still signed in usually means the device cannot be resold. Bring valid photo ID, which they ask for.
BuysAuthenticated luxury and contemporary designer fashion, Handbags, Named top-selling brands including Gucci, Hermès, Chanel, Louis Vuitton, Prada, Dior, Bottega Veneta and Saint Laurent
The dealConsignment of authenticated designer fashion, so payment follows a sale rather than arriving at the counter. No appointment is needed — "You don't need to make an appointment to meet with one of our luxury specialists." Specialists will travel within the Greater Toronto Area and Calgary to advise on a wardrobe, which is worth asking about if you are clearing one. On payment the site says only: "Please call or email the location where you consigned your goods, and we will issue you a cheque for the next payment cycle." The payout percentage, minimum item value, consignment period and markdown schedule are NOT published anywhere on their site and are deliberately left blank here.
BuysFurniture, Lighting, China, porcelain and crystal, Tableware, silver plate and sterling silver, Figurines, Original artwork, Hand-knotted rugs, Decorative mirrors, Home decor, Designer handbags and wallets, Marked costume jewellery
Won't takeSporting goods, Small and large appliances, Healthcare equipment, Mattresses, Baby furniture, Self-assembly furniture, Entertainment units, Bedding and drapery, Clothing, Damaged goods, Collector plates, Dolls, Pianos, Posters, Small liqueur glasses, Pinwheel crystal, Coach, Michael Kors, Tory Burch and Kate Spade handbags
The dealConsignment with a flat published split: "You will receive 60% of the sale price of your items", the shop retaining 40%. Pricing holds for the first 60 days, then the item is "reduced by 10% of the original price" and continues to reduce by 10% of the initial price every 30 days until it sells; gold and silver reduce by 5% on the same schedule. Unusually, there is no expiry — "Unless your items are seasonal, we are happy to keep your items until they sell! There is no expiration date." Cheques over $20 are mailed to consignors in the first week of each month for the previous month's sales; amounts under $20 are held and batched. No house visits for ordinary consignments — you deliver. For estates or large volumes they ask for JPEG photos of the rooms and decide case by case.
Where150 Lesmill Road, Toronto, ON
The refusal list is long and specific: no clothing, no appliances, no mattresses, no flat-pack furniture, no entertainment units, and four named handbag brands turned away. Check it before loading a van, and book — the showroom is appointment-only. "No expiration date" also means an unsold piece can sit indefinitely while the 10%-per-month ladder keeps eroding the price your 60% is calculated on.
BuysGently used fashionable clothing, men's and women's, Shoes, Bags, Hats, Belts, Scarves, Vintage pieces
Won't takeItems that are not clean, not in good condition, off-trend or out of season, More than three grocery-store-sized bags per visit, Sellers under 18 or without valid ID
The dealBuys outright — not consignment — and, rare in this market, publishes the rate: 50% of the price they will sell the item for in store credit, or 25% of that same price in cash. Valid ID is required and you must be 18 or over. No appointment: you drop items off with your name and cell number, a buyer reviews them and texts you when finished. Anything declined must be collected the same day — items left more than 24 hours are considered abandoned. Buying counters take drop-offs daily from 11am until two hours before closing, with pickup at least an hour before closing.
WhereOnly 527 Bloor Street West (the Annex) could be confirmed on their own site in this pass, and no phone number is published there. Other Toronto and Montreal locations are referred to elsewhere but were not verified — check their site before travelling to any other address.
No public premises listed. We could not find a street address or phone on their site — contact them through it before making any plans.
Read the number carefully: 25% cash is 25% of the price THEY will sell it for, not of what you paid. An item they will retail at $80 pays $20 cash or $40 in credit. Store credit is only worth the extra if you will actually spend it. Three bags maximum per visit, bring ID, and collect anything they decline the same day or it is treated as abandoned.
BuysFurniture, Rugs, Original art, Silver, Crystal, Lighting, Home decor
Won't takeAnything not showroom-ready — items must be clean and polished, without odour, damage, rips, fading or staining, and fully and properly assembled
The dealConsignment, so you are paid only after the item sells. Published split by final selling price: $5,001 and up, consignor 60% / shop 40%; $51 to $5,000, a 50/50 split; $50 or less, consignor 45% / shop 55%. Term is a "minimum of 150 days and a maximum of 180 days". Prices reduce on a published ladder — 10% at day 31, 20% at day 61, 30% at day 91, 40% at day 121. From day 151 to 180 unsold items may be reclaimed free of charge. From day 181 the shop owns anything unsold. Cheques are mailed by the 15th of the month following the sale once the account reaches a $100 minimum, with a $5 fee per cheque and a $35 fee to reissue one.
Where185 Bridgeland Avenue, Toronto, ON M6A 1Y7
Three terms cost real money. Retrieving an item before day 151 triggers an early termination fee of 20% of the initial selling price. Nothing pays out until your account reaches $100, and each cheque costs $5. And an item that sells at day 121 sells at 40% off its original ticket, so your percentage is taken on the reduced figure, not the price it was first listed at. If you leave it past day 180 the shop owns it.
BuysMid-century Scandinavian design furniture, Vintage teak, rosewood, walnut and oak pieces, Vintage lighting, Antiques, Industrial pieces, Designer home decor
The dealBuys outright, and makes the distinction explicitly on their own page: "Whereas most stores operate on a consignment basis, here at Guff we outright buy." You are paid without waiting for the item to sell and without collecting anything unsold. The process is remote-first: fill in the form on their site with your contact details, a description and photographs, and "if there's interest we will arrange a time to meet" to look at what you are selling. That makes it a low-effort first call for a house clearance — you find out whether anything is worth money before moving furniture.
Where1 Davies Ave, Toronto, ON
They are specialists rather than a general clearance service — the demand is for mid-century Scandinavian, teak, rosewood, walnut and oak, vintage lighting and designer pieces, so ordinary modern or flat-pack furniture is unlikely to be taken. Their page does not say whether they collect from the home, so establish that at the viewing before planning the rest of the clear-out around it. No price guidance is published; the offer follows the viewing.
BuysGold, silver and platinum bullion — bars, ingots, rounds and coins, Gold, silver and platinum jewellery, Collectible coins, Canadian and international, Sterling silver flatware, Dental gold fillings, Luxury watches — Rolex, Omega, Tudor, Cartier, Breitling, Patek Philippe, IWC, Audemars Piguet, Natural diamonds, colour N or better and over 0.4 carats, Scrap precious metal, Old Canadian paper money and rare bills
The dealOutright purchase against published prices, which is the exception in this category. The site publishes a buy-price table in Canadian dollars per gram by purity — 24kt, 22kt, 21kt, 18kt, 14kt, 10kt and 9kt — and states "Our pricing is based on a percentage of the spot price and updates throughout the day". It does not state what that percentage is, so none is given here. No appointment needed: "visit our Bloorcourt location at 829 Bloor Street West - no appointment needed." Valuations are done on site in front of you. The site states a valid government-issued photo ID "is required by law to complete any transaction" and that you must be 18 or older.
Where829 Bloor Street W, Toronto, ON
They publish the method (a percentage of spot) but not the percentage, so the per-gram table is the number to check — look it up the morning you go, since they say it moves during the day. Scrap purchases are priced by weight and purity, so a piece with separate value as jewellery, as an antique, or by its maker is worth pricing on that basis first; melting cannot be undone. Photo ID and 18+ are required.
BuysSteel and cast iron, Stainless steel, Copper, brass and aluminium, Lead, nickel and tungsten carbide, Cable, Appliances, stoves and microwaves, Cars, Transformers, Batteries, Catalytic converters and rotors, Computers, televisions, keyboards and circuit boards
The dealA working scrap yard that states "We buy metal from the general public" and has an "OPEN TO THE PUBLIC" section. You bring material in, it is weighed and graded, and you are paid against the day's market for that grade. Appliances, copper, brass, aluminium and end-of-life electronics from a house clearance are all on their accepted list. They also run bins for demolition and industry; residential pickup is not advertised. No prices, no payment method and no ID requirement are published on their site.
Where3534 Dundas St W, York, ON M6S 2S1
Scrap has no fixed price and this yard publishes none — the figure depends on weight, grade and how well the material is separated, so the only real quote is the one at the scale. Separating copper from steel before you go changes the number. Their site says nothing about identification or payment method, so call ahead if either matters to you, and bring photo ID in case.
BuysJunk, wrecked, old and non-running cars, End-of-life vehicles, Vehicles for scrap and dismantling
The dealSubmit a form or phone for a "no-obligation cash offer" on the vehicle; the page promises a "fair cash offer" whether or not the car runs. Free junk car removal and free towing across the Greater Toronto Area, so the vehicle does not need to be driveable. A licensed auto recycler, serving the GTA since 1979. The page states "No need to worry about towing or paperwork — our team handles everything", but it does NOT say what documents or identification you must produce, how payment is made, or when it is handed over.
Where1216 Sewells Rd, Scarborough, ON M1X 1S1
Three things are absent from the page and should be settled on the phone before a truck is dispatched: what documents and identification you need, whether payment is cash, cheque or transfer, and at what point it is handed over. You are transferring a titled asset, so do not let the vehicle leave on a verbal assurance. The offer is also made before anyone has seen the car — confirm whether it is the price on collection or an opening figure.
BuysVinyl LPs across Rock, Pop, Soul, R&B, Blues, Jazz, Reggae, International, Punk, Metal, Psychedelic, Garage Rock, Hip Hop, Electronic, Country, Folk and Soundtracks, 45s, CDs, Inherited and collector record collections of any size
Won't take78s, Badly scratched or water-damaged records, Classical, Vocal, Easy Listening and Religious records are rarely bought
The dealCounter purchase, with a buyer on duty 11am to 8pm, 364 days a year. They buy from a few LPs up to a whole collection and state most purchases take 30 minutes or less, longer at busy times or for large collections. Records brought in after 7pm are processed the next business day; you can also leave them for evaluation and a callback within 48 hours. They state they "will happily travel to take a look at larger collections of greater value". Every record is condition-checked individually.
Where215 Spadina Ave., Toronto, ON
Their site states "Government issued photo ID is required by law when selling used product to Sonic Boom" — turning up without it ends the trip. If the collection is mostly Classical, Vocal, Easy Listening or Religious, call first; they rarely buy those genres and you would otherwise carry the boxes both ways. They travel only for larger collections of greater value, so do not assume a house call for a few crates.
BuysBooks — fiction, non-fiction, recent releases and classics, Comics, pre-1990s or very new, and timeless classics, Antiquarian books, first editions and signed books, Vinyl LPs and some 45s, and select CDs, DVDs and Blu-rays — sci-fi, horror, Criterion, Kino, classic TV, Music, film, fashion and vintage magazines, Board games and action figures, complete and in original packaging, at the Bloor Street store only
Won't takeBooks in poor condition — water damage, cracked spines, yellowed pages, Encyclopedia sets and old atlases, Outdated reference books on computers, travel, health and politics, Hardcover pop fiction already available in paperback
The dealStraightforward counter purchase: bring items to the buying counter at any of the three stores, they make an offer on what they can resell, and you "Take the Cash" on the spot. Anything declined you can donate to them or take home. "No appointment is necessary, but we strongly recommend you call ahead if you have more than two boxes of material." They will look at anything from a single item to a full library. No ID requirement is stated on their site.
WhereThree stores: Annex, 471 Bloor St. West (416-967-5757); Uptown, 2289 Yonge Street (416-482-6002); Downtown, 10 Edward Street (416-977-3087). Board games and action figures are bought at the Bloor Street store only.
No house calls are mentioned, so a large library means several car trips — call ahead if you have more than two boxes rather than arriving with a full trunk. Condition decides everything: cracked spines, yellowed pages and water damage are refused, as are encyclopedias, old atlases and dated reference books, which is a large share of what comes out of a cleared house. Expect to donate or re-load some of what you bring.
Take government photo ID. Several of these businesses say plainly
that they cannot buy from you without it, and that a health card will not do.
Phone ahead with the specifics. Make, model, age, condition. Most
refusals happen at the counter over something that could have been settled in a
two-minute call.
Get more than one number if the item is worth more than a hundred
dollars or so. Offers on the same item vary widely.
Ask which transaction you are being offered — a purchase, a
consignment or a loan — and get it in writing.
We could not verify this city’s municipal rules for second-hand dealers and pawnbrokers from an official source, so we state none. Check with the City or the province before relying on anything you read about them elsewhere.
Worth nothing? That is a real answer too.
Most of what comes out of a cleared house will not sell at any price, and the businesses above
will tell you so at the counter. Photograph it first and we will tell you before you drive
anywhere — and if the answer is that it is worth nothing, we will point you at
the Toronto charities that will still take it.
Will a pawn shop in Toronto give me a loan or buy it outright?
Many do both, and they are entirely different transactions. A loan means you get the item back only if you repay the money plus interest and fees by the date on the ticket; miss it and the shop keeps and sells your item. An outright sale is final. Ask for both numbers separately and compare them.
How much will I actually get?
Less than you think, and nobody publishes a reliable average — we checked 189 businesses across fourteen cities. Consignment pays most and pays last. An outright sale pays least and pays today. Scrap and gold are weight and purity against the day’s market, minus a margin almost nobody states.
Will any of them collect from my house in Toronto?
Auto salvage almost always tows a non-running car free. Some furniture dealers and consignment shops will collect, usually for a fee or above a minimum value. Scrap yards that advertise collection generally mean a commercial roll-off bin, not a van for a box of copper. Every listing here says what we could confirm and nothing more.
Do I need identification?
Almost certainly, and it is the most common cause of a wasted trip. Several businesses state plainly that government-issued photo ID is required and that a health card will not be accepted. Take a driving licence or passport.
What is genuinely worth nothing?
Flat-pack furniture, most paperbacks, encyclopedias, classical and easy-listening records, out-of-season sports equipment and adult clothing more than a few years old. The refusal lists on this page are the evidence. Those things can still be donated, and often should be.