14 businesses in and around Saskatoon that buy used goods from the
public, or sell them on your behalf. For each one: what they buy, what they refuse, and
exactly how the transaction works — because a pawn loan, a consignment split and an outright
sale are three different things.
Verified 2026-09-24 from each business's own website. Prices, terms and what
they take change without notice. We are not affiliated with any business listed here, none of
them pay to be included, and we receive nothing if you sell to them.
If you are thinking about pawning something
A pawn loan is borrowing, not selling: you get your item back only by repaying the
money plus all interest and fees by the date printed on the ticket, and if you miss that
date the shop keeps the item and sells it.
Before you hand anything over, get three things written on the ticket: the interest
rate, the total redemption figure in dollars, and the deadline. Across all
fourteen cities we checked, almost no pawn shop publishes its rate anywhere on its website —
so the only place you will see it is on the paperwork in front of you.
If you want money and do not want the item back, ask separately for an outright purchase
price and compare the two. They are different numbers for different transactions, and a shop
that offers both will not necessarily volunteer which one it is quoting.
What will they actually pay?
We do not publish an average payout, because nobody publishes one. Any site quoting
you "typically 60% of retail" invented it. Across 189 businesses in fourteen cities, a
handful publish a consignment split, one publishes a per-gram gold table, and not one pawn
shop, scrap yard or electronics buyer publishes what it pays relative to resale value.
What we can tell you is the shape of it. Consignment pays the most and pays last, often on a
declining scale as the item sits. An outright sale pays least and pays today. Metals and gold
are weight times purity minus a spread nobody states, so the only real number is the one at
the scale. And for a great deal of what comes out of a cleared house — flat-pack furniture,
book-club paperbacks, old encyclopedias, out-of-season sports gear, adult clothing more than
a few years old — the honest answer is that nobody in these fourteen cities will pay anything
for it at all. The refusal lists below are the evidence.
Pawn shops in Saskatoon
Two completely different transactions under one roof. Read the box above before you go into any of these.
BuysGold, diamonds and luxury jewellery, Watches, Smartphones, Electronics, Power tools, General used merchandise
The dealTwo different transactions, and the site advertises both. A pawn LOAN is secured credit: you hand over the item, take cash, and the item is yours again only if you repay the advance plus the lender's charges within the agreed term. If you do not redeem it, you forfeit the item. An outright SALE ends your interest in the item on the day. The site's own wording is that the Saskatoon shop "offers pay-by-the-day extensions on pawn loans and pawn transactions plus we offer a layaway option on everything we sell" - the layaway is for people buying from them, not for people selling to them. Their stated promotion, quoted from the page: "If you have pawned an item with any competitor in Saskatoon within the last three months, simply bring us the receipt, and we will lend you 10% more on that same item." That 10% is the size of a LOAN advance, not a price paid for an outright sale. No interest rate, fee schedule or redemption period is published on the site.
Where102 Avenue P S, Saskatoon, SK S7M 2V9
No interest rate, fee or redemption period is published on the site, so the cost of a loan here is not knowable before you ask in store. As a pawnshop this business is licensed under Saskatoon's Business License Bylaw, 2002 and its pawn transactions and outright purchases are recorded and reported to police under The Pawned Property (Recording) Act. Two pieces of identification, one of them a photo ID of a type listed in the regulations, are required by law before either transaction can be completed.
BuysGold, silver and jewellery, High-end watches, Flat-screen TVs and electronics, Tablets and smartphones, Gaming systems, Guitars and musical instruments, Mountain bikes, Golf clubs, Car audio equipment, Tools, Indigenous art, Vehicles, Collectibles
The dealThe site describes pawning, buying and trading as separate things. Pawning is a loan against the item, and the list they say they will lend against includes gold, high-end watches, jewellery, electronics, tablets and smartphones, guitars, collectibles and vehicles - they specifically advertise auto pawns. Buying outright is a different transaction and their buy/trade list is wider, covering TVs, bikes, golf clubs, tools, gaming systems, car audio and Indigenous art. If you pawn, the item is collateral and is forfeited if you do not redeem it by the deadline; if you sell, it is gone on the day and you keep the cash. No interest rate, loan term or redemption period is stated anywhere on the site. The site says the business is locally owned and has operated 22+ years.
Where801 20 St W, Saskatoon, SK S7M 0Y2
A vehicle pawn means handing over a vehicle as security for a loan; if the loan is not repaid by the deadline the vehicle is forfeited. No rates, terms or redemption periods are published on the site. Two pieces of identification including a photo ID of a type listed in the provincial regulations are required by law before either a pawn or an outright sale can be completed, and the transaction is reported to police.
BuysUsed electronics - the site states they buy, sell and trade electronics
The dealTheir site states "We buy, sell, trade electronics", so both an outright sale and a trade toward stock are possible. Which categories they take, whether payment is cash, and what they turn down are not specified online. Their own site warns that "This website is not updated regularly" and asks customers to call or visit. Any figure is a quote given in person.
Where115 3rd Ave N, Saskatoon, SK S7K 2H6 (Drinkle Mall)
No buying terms, categories or prices are published, so there is nothing to compare before arriving, and the shop states its own website is not kept current.
The dealOutright purchase - the site states you get cash on the spot for the items they accept, with no appointment necessary. Their site notes each location is individually owned and operated, so what a particular store accepts and its exact terms can differ; confirm with the Saskatoon store. No payout percentage is published.
WhereTwo Saskatoon location pages are live on their own locator, Saskatoon West and Saskatoon East. Neither page publishes the street address, phone number or opening times; use the locator's directions or email link.
No public premises listed. We could not find a street address or phone on their site — contact them through it before making any plans.
No payout rate is stated and the store's refusal list is not published, so what they will take and what they will pay are only knowable in store. Second-hand children's clothing, shoes, equipment, furniture and safety devices are on the exemption list in the provincial pawned-property regulations.
BuysGently used clothing, footwear, outerwear and athletic wear, Accessories, Girls' sizes 0-6x, Guys' sizes 28-3x
Won't takeStyles outside the last 6 months of current trends, Items not in gently used condition
The dealOutright purchase, not consignment. Staff review what you bring while you wait, make an offer on the pieces they want, and the site states they "pay cash on the spot for all items accepted." You keep whatever they turn down. The location page states they "buy current styles within the last 6 months" and "buy all day every day" with "No appointment necessary." No payout percentage or formula is published. (The "up to 70% off mall retail" figure on their site is the discount for people buying from the store, not a seller payout rate.)
WhereTheir location page for Saskatoon is live, but it does not publish the street address, phone number or opening times - use the page's directions link or email form.
No public premises listed. We could not find a street address or phone on their site — contact them through it before making any plans.
They buy a narrow slice of what most people are clearing out: current-style clothing in the sizes listed, within roughly the last 6 months of fashion. No payout rate of any kind is published. Adult clothing and shoes, other than leather or fur jackets and coats, are exempt from the provincial pawned-property recording rules.
BuysFurniture, Home decor, Dishware and decorative items, Modern, retro and vintage pieces, Clothing, shoes, purses and accessories, Jewellery
Won't takeItems with stains or odours, Items with holes or unravelling seams, Missing buttons or broken zippers, Items with noticeable wear
The dealConsignment, not a sale - you receive nothing on the day you hand the item over, and nothing at all if it does not sell. Their published terms: the consignor receives 50% of the net selling price and the store keeps 50%. The store sets the price. Items are displayed for a maximum of 90 days, with a possible 30-day extension on selected pieces. Days 1-30 run at the initial price; the price drops 25% for days 31-60 and by a further 25% for each 30 days after that. Their policy also states that after 90 days, unsold items priced under $300 become the property of the store and are donated or sold for charity. Payments over $25 for a month's sales are mailed on or after the 15th of the following month, with smaller amounts accumulating until they reach the $25 threshold. A $1.00 monthly portal fee and credit card processing fees are deducted from consignor payments. Taking an item back before the consignment period ends carries a 12% storage fee calculated on the net selling price. For furniture they can arrange professional movers, and they state additional fees apply for major repairs or professional cleaning.
Where808 Broadway Ave, Saskatoon, SK
Payment comes only after a sale, and then on or after the 15th of the following month. The published markdown schedule reduces the price 25% every 30 days an item goes unsold, and items under $300 still unsold after 90 days become the store's property under their stated terms. Moving, repair, cleaning, portal and card processing costs are deducted from what you receive, and an early withdrawal carries a 12% storage fee.
The dealTheir used-bike page states "We pay CA$H for used bikes in good condition!" and separately "Trade-In your bike for something bigger or newer!" - two different transactions, so establish which offer is on the table. No purchase prices, trade-in values or formulas are published.
Where1619 8th St. East, Saskatoon, SK
The published offer is limited to bikes "in good condition" and nothing is stated about bikes needing repair. No figures of any kind are published, so a quote requires bringing the bike in.
BuysGold jewellery, all karats and conditions, Silver jewellery and sterling silver items, Luxury pre-owned watches, Gold and silver coins and bars, Broken or unwanted pieces, Estate jewellery
The dealAn outright purchase at a fixed retail shop, not a loan - nothing on the page offers credit against an item. Their site states all assessments are completed on-site by trained professionals using certified equipment, based on current rates, and that no appointment is needed for standard buying and selling. They also offer separate professional appraisals. No percentage of spot price and no payout formula is published.
Where#1 - 105 21st St. E, Saskatoon, SK
Scrap gold is priced on metal content - weight and karat - rather than on what a piece cost new or would fetch as a finished piece of jewellery. The site does not state what fraction of the spot metal price is paid. A sale here is final, which is what distinguishes it from a pawn loan, where the item can be recovered by repaying the advance.
The dealPaid by weight for the metal itself, graded on the spot - clean copper wire pays very differently from the same weight of mixed or insulated wire, which is why their metal page lists so many separate grades. Their site states "You've the option to be paid in Cash or eTransfer" and gives the timing as "Right away!" They also run mobile pickups: their services page states "Our fleet of trucks with scales are ready to pickup and pay for your material at your location", and offers "Bins for your metal recycling at no cost to you." No prices are published anywhere on the site.
Where821 64th St E, Bay 50, Saskatoon, SK S7P 0G8
No price list is published, so yards cannot be compared from the website alone - scrap rates track commodity markets and change. They list non-ferrous metals and specific automotive and electrical components; whole appliances are not named on their buy list.
BuysScrap and junk cars, running or not, Farm equipment and machinery, Recyclable metal
The dealYou describe the vehicle, they make an offer, and if you accept they come and take it away - an outright sale, not a loan or a consignment. Their site advertises instant offers, same-day pickup, "$0 Towing Cost" and no hidden fees, and states "5,000+ Cars Bought". No dollar amounts are published; any figure depends on the vehicle and on scrap prices at the time.
WhereServes Saskatoon and area. The site gives a phone number and email address rather than a yard address.
The site does not state what ownership paperwork or identification is needed to hand over a vehicle, so that has to be confirmed by phone before pickup. No prices are published.
BuysWrecked and unwanted cars, trucks and vans, Boats, RVs, Farm equipment and tractors, Scrap metal
The dealOutright purchase with removal. Their site states "We Pay Cash on the Spot. Running or Not!" and they tow the vehicle away themselves. The site says they have operated since 2005, cover Saskatoon and Prince Albert, and are available 24/7. No payment amounts are published.
WhereCovers Saskatoon and Prince Albert. The site gives phone and email contact rather than a public yard address.
No prices and no paperwork requirements are published on the site. Confirm the offer and what proof of ownership is needed before the tow truck arrives.
BuysQuality used books across roughly two dozen subjects including fiction, history, art, philosophy, science, poetry, First Nations and local history
Won't takeEncyclopedias, Textbooks, Reader's Digest serial publications, Former library books, Magazines, Warped, stained or worn books, weak or broken bindings, marked-up text, strong odours, Health, diet and fitness titles (as of 2025), Travel guides and automotive manuals (as of 2025)
The dealStore credit only. Their published wording is that "Credit is offered in the amount of 50% of our sell price, and never expires." No cash option is mentioned anywhere in the policy. Small trades of one to three bags or small boxes take roughly 15-20 minutes to go through, and larger trades take longer; you take home whatever they decline.
Where408 20th St. W, Saskatoon, SK S7M 0X4
This is a credit-only trade - the policy states 50% of their sell price in store credit and mentions no cash option. The exclusion list is long: textbooks, former library stock, magazines and encyclopedias are refused outright.
The dealOutright purchase of collections. Their sell-your-media page states they buy vinyl, cassettes, CDs, 8-tracks and VHS tapes, that they buy collections as a whole rather than making you price items individually, and that payment is by cash or e-transfer once a price is agreed. On what they pay, the figure published on their own page is "40-50% of your collection's value" - that is the store's own stated range, not an independent estimate, and "value" is not defined on the page.
Where115 3rd Avenue South, Saskatoon, SK (basement of the Drinkle Mall)
The 40-50% range is the shop's own published figure and the basis for it is not explained on the site. They buy collections as a lot, so a single valuable record is priced inside a bulk offer rather than separately.
BuysUsed books in good condition that the store believes it can sell reasonably quickly
Won't takeBooks that are not clean, bug-free and smoke-free, More than roughly two bags or boxes per visit
The dealMostly trade, not cash. Their published policy is store credit at 50% of the store's own sell-price for books in good condition that they think will sell reasonably quickly. On cash their wording is: "We very rarely pay cash for books at this time. If we are open to paying for your books we will let you know." Credits are recorded digitally and looked up at the till rather than issued on paper. They ask you to limit what you bring to about two bags or boxes, that books be clean, bug-free, smoke-free and neatly stacked, and to allow up to half an hour for them to go through them. What they accept varies with what is already on the shelf.
Where1022A Louise Ave, Saskatoon, SK S7H 2P6
The published offer is store credit at 50% of their sell price; cash is stated to be rare. Second-hand books and similar printed material are on the exemption list in the provincial pawned-property regulations.
Take government photo ID. Several of these businesses say plainly
that they cannot buy from you without it, and that a health card will not do.
Phone ahead with the specifics. Make, model, age, condition. Most
refusals happen at the counter over something that could have been settled in a
two-minute call.
Get more than one number if the item is worth more than a hundred
dollars or so. Offers on the same item vary widely.
Ask which transaction you are being offered — a purchase, a
consignment or a loan — and get it in writing.
All of the following was verified against primary sources fetched directly: The Pawned Property (Recording) Act, c P-4.2 and The Pawned Property (Recording) Regulations, c P-4.2 Reg 1 (both downloaded from the Office of the King's Printer at publications.saskatchewan.ca), and The Business License Bylaw, 2002, Bylaw No. 8075, codified to Bylaw No. 9684, August 31 2020 (downloaded from saskatoon.ca). WHO THE PROVINCIAL RULES BIND. This is the point that decides whether the rest applies to a given shop. Section 2(e) of the Act defines a pawnbroker as \"a person who regularly conducts more than 10 pawn transactions per month\". The Act binds pawnbrokers. It does not impose identification or police-reporting duties on every second-hand dealer in the province, so an ordinary used-electronics shop, record shop, bookshop or jeweller that is not a pawnbroker is outside it. Section 2(g) defines an \"unconditional sale\" as the purchase of an article by a pawnbroker outright - so when a pawnbroker buys something outright, that sale is caught by the Act too, not just the loans. One further condition: section 7(4) says the identification and reporting section applies to a pawnbroker only where the chief of police has given at least 90 days' notice; in Saskatoon, bylaw section 27.7 has required electronic recording and reporting of all pawn transactions since January 1, 2005. IDENTIFICATION - TWO PIECES, ONE WITH A PHOTOGRAPH. Regulation section 4(1) requires a pawnbroker, before a pawn transaction or an unconditional sale, to obtain your name, address, telephone number and date of birth; a description of you including height, weight, gender, hair colour and eye colour; and the identification record numbers from two pieces of identification. One of the two must be one of the following types and only counts if it carries your photograph: a valid driver's licence issued by a Canadian province or territory or a US state; a passport issued by the government of origin; a Certificate of Indian Status Card issued by the Government of Canada; a Certificate of Citizenship Card issued by the Government of Canada; or a Conditional Release Card issued by Correctional Services of Canada. An original birth certificate may be used only if the accompanying second piece carries your photograph. Section 7(2) of the Act sets the consequence, quoted exactly: if a person \"refuses or is unable to provide the information required pursuant to subsection (1), the pawnbroker shall not complete the pawn transaction or unconditional sale.\" SERIAL NUMBERS. Regulation section 5 bars a pawnbroker from taking an article that bears or customarily bears a serial number \"unless the serial number is clearly legible and has not been totally or partially altered, removed or obscured.\" WHAT GETS RECORDED AND WHO SEES IT. Regulation section 4(1)(d) requires a detailed description of the article - manufacturer, year of manufacture, make and model, serial number, identifying marks, any title on the item, the media type for a CD, tape, vinyl record, DVD or VHS, and for jewellery the type, weight, karat, engraving or micro-reference, and the number, type, colour, clarity and shape of each gemstone. Section 4(2) requires the date and time, the price paid or the amount loaned on pawn, and the name of the person conducting the transaction; the dealer must issue you a receipt and retain a hard copy signed by both of you. Regulation section 6 requires the pawnbroker to record this electronically in a format approved by the chief of police immediately after the transaction, provide it to the chief of police as soon as practicable, and file a report at least once each day the shop is open - including a nil report on days with no transactions. A pawn or an outright sale at a pawnshop is therefore an identified, police-reported transaction. EXEMPTIONS - MOST HOUSE-CLEAROUT GOODS ARE OUTSIDE THE ACT. Regulation section 3(f) lists articles the Act does not apply to: second-hand books, magazines, journals, periodicals and other similar printed materials; postage stamps; second-hand infant's, toddler's or children's clothing, shoes, equipment, furniture or safety devices; adult clothing or shoes except leather or fur jackets and coats; second-hand cookware, glassware and eating utensils that do not contain precious metals; waste paper, waste cardboard and waste glass; second-hand furniture; second-hand appliances including refrigerators, freezers, stoves, washers, dryers, dishwashers and garbage compactors; and non-motorized lawn or garden equipment and tools. Section 3 also exempts retail returns for refund, exchange or credit, and acquisitions from a law enforcement agency, from a merchant, retailer or wholesaler with a permanent place of business, from a trustee in bankruptcy, executor, administrator or receiver who shows proof of position, or from a public official acting under judicial authority. SASKATOON'S BYLAW - PART V, PAWNBROKERS. Bylaw 8075 defines a \"pawnshop\" as \"a business wherein more than 10 pawn transactions per month are conducted\" and adopts the Act's definitions of pawnbroker, pawn transaction and unconditional sale. Section 27.2 requires a licence to operate a pawnshop, renewed annually. Section 27.3 bars a pawnshop from being located within 160 metres of another, measured property line to property line, with grandfathering for pawnshops that held a valid licence on October 4, 2004. Section 27.4 sets holding periods: a pawnbroker \"shall hold any property received in a pawn transaction or unconditional sale for at least two consecutive clear business days\", shall not display it for sale for 30 days, and shall not sell it until it has been displayed for sale for at least 15 days after that 30-day period. Section 27.5: a pawnbroker \"shall not engage in a pawn transaction or conditional sale with a person under the age of 18 years.\" Section 27.6: a pawnbroker \"shall not accept personal identification in a pawn transaction\" - your ID document itself cannot be the pawned article. Section 27.7 requires electronic recording and reporting of all pawn transactions under the provincial Act, effective January 1, 2005. PAWNING VERSUS SELLING. Both happen at the same counter and the paperwork looks similar, so the distinction is worth stating plainly. A pawn transaction is defined in the Act as depositing an article with a pawnbroker at interest or in expectation of profit, where it is express or implied that the article may be redeemed or repurchased. You get cash now, the shop holds the item, and you get it back only by repaying the advance plus the lender's charges by the deadline. Miss the deadline and the item is forfeited and sold, and the cash you took is the whole of what you received. An unconditional sale is final on the day. None of the Saskatoon pawnshops whose sites were checked publish interest rates, fees or redemption periods anywhere online, so those figures exist only in the store.
Worth nothing? That is a real answer too.
Most of what comes out of a cleared house will not sell at any price, and the businesses above
will tell you so at the counter. Photograph it first and we will tell you before you drive
anywhere — and if the answer is that it is worth nothing, we will point you at
the Saskatoon charities that will still take it.
Will a pawn shop in Saskatoon give me a loan or buy it outright?
Many do both, and they are entirely different transactions. A loan means you get the item back only if you repay the money plus interest and fees by the date on the ticket; miss it and the shop keeps and sells your item. An outright sale is final. Ask for both numbers separately and compare them.
How much will I actually get?
Less than you think, and nobody publishes a reliable average — we checked 189 businesses across fourteen cities. Consignment pays most and pays last. An outright sale pays least and pays today. Scrap and gold are weight and purity against the day’s market, minus a margin almost nobody states.
Will any of them collect from my house in Saskatoon?
Auto salvage almost always tows a non-running car free. Some furniture dealers and consignment shops will collect, usually for a fee or above a minimum value. Scrap yards that advertise collection generally mean a commercial roll-off bin, not a van for a box of copper. Every listing here says what we could confirm and nothing more.
Do I need identification?
Almost certainly, and it is the most common cause of a wasted trip. Several businesses state plainly that government-issued photo ID is required and that a health card will not be accepted. Take a driving licence or passport.
What is genuinely worth nothing?
Flat-pack furniture, most paperbacks, encyclopedias, classical and easy-listening records, out-of-season sports equipment and adult clothing more than a few years old. The refusal lists on this page are the evidence. Those things can still be donated, and often should be.