clothes · Ontario

Where to sell clothes and textiles in Hamilton

7 businesses in and around Hamilton that buy used clothes from the public — what each takes, and whether you are offered a purchase, a consignment or a loan.

Verified 2026-09-24 from each organization's own website. We are not affiliated with anyone listed here, nobody pays to be included, and we receive nothing if you sell to them.

How to tell what you have got

Before you call anyone, two minutes with the object settles most of it. None of this needs an expert — it needs a flashlight and a look at the back.

  • Teen and young-adult mall brands from the last 12 to 18 monthsIt buys all seasons year-round, takes walk-ins with no appointment, and requires items freshly laundered and free of odours. Sizes are adult only and the ranges are set per store: the London page gives girls 0 to 30 and up to 6X and guys XS to 4X and 28 to 44 inch waist, while the chain's national sell-to-us page gives girls 0 to 6X and guys 28 to 3X. Check your own store's page rather than assuming. No kids or youth sizes anywhere.
  • Premium outerwear and technical kit in near-new conditionBring it in June, not in October. VSP publishes its calendar: "Spring-Summer intake begins in December and Fall-Winter intake begins in June." By the time the weather turns, a shop is already full of parkas and will decline yours whatever the label.
  • Unworn items with the original tags still onKeep them separate and still tagged. Do not launder them or remove the tags to make them look tidy.

Rarely worth anything

Not a rule, and not a reason to bin something without asking. These are the things people most often expect to be worth money and find are not.

  • Mid-market and fast-fashion labels, at a luxury consignor
  • Clothing with stains, balling, repairs or odours
  • Household linens in bulk: towels, sheets, duvet covers, curtains
  • Single socks, single shoes, rags and fabric scraps
  • Underwear and worn-out basics
  • The whole-house pile, taken as a pile
Second-hand textiles are exempt from federal fibre-content labelling if labelled as second-hand Federal (Textile Labelling and Advertising Regulations, C.R.C., c. 1551, s. 9, under the Textile Labelling Act)

Section 9: "A prescribed consumer textile article that is clearly identified by means of a label as a second-hand article is exempt from the application of section 3 of the Act." The regulations do not define "second-hand", and the exemption is conditional on the article carrying that label. Relevant if you are reselling a quantity of clothing as a business rather than giving it away.

Read the rule →

7 places in Hamilton that take clothes

CJ's Pawn It

Buys or lends Not stated — ask
BuysGold and jewellery, Luxury watches, Electronics - gaming consoles, laptops, PCs, Tools - drills, saws, tool sets, equipment
The dealTheir site offers two separate routes. A PAWN LOAN, in their own wording: "After we talk, you get cash on the spot for a 30-day term. All pawn loans come with simple interest fees to get your items back," and "Pay back your 30-day interest-bearing loan to get your property back." That is secured borrowing - the item is collateral held against the loan, not something you have sold. Separately there is a 'Sell an item' route, which is an outright sale: the item is gone and the money is yours. No interest rate, fee schedule or default terms are published anywhere on the site.
Where701 Barton St E, Hamilton, ON L8L 3A5
A pawn loan and a sale are not interchangeable here. Under a pawn loan the shop holds your item and you repay the principal plus interest and fees within the term to get it back; their site does not publish the rate, the total repayment amount, or what happens if you do not repay in time. Ask for all three in writing, on the pawn ticket, before you sign. An outright sale is final and involves no interest.

Canada Gold Hamilton

Quote first Bring it to them
BuysGold, silver and platinum jewellery - rings, earrings, bracelets, necklaces, chains, brooches, Bullion - Canadian and international bars, ingots, rounds and coins, including American Gold Eagles, British Sovereigns and Krugerrands, Scrap gold, silver and platinum, Luxury watches - Rolex, Omega, Tudor, Cartier, Breitling, Patek Philippe, IWC, Audemars Piguet, Collectible coins, Old Canadian paper money
Won't takeSilver items with no recognized hallmark such as 925, STER or Sterling, Larger diamonds and gemstones are not valued on the spot - their site says stones above 0.40 carat have to be appraised before they will make an offer
The dealOutright purchase after an in-person evaluation. Their site describes free evaluations done in your presence with no appointment needed, and states "Our offers are no-obligation and there is never any pressure." No payout percentage of the metal price is published anywhere on their site.
Where1241 Barton Street East, Unit Q4, Hamilton, ON L8H 2V4
Their site states you must be 18 or older and that a valid government-issued photo ID - driver's licence, passport or provincial ID card - is required. Turning up without ID is a wasted trip. Since no payout percentage is published, ask for the offer broken down by weight and karat so you can compare it with another buyer.

Harbourfront Antiques

Buys or lends May collect — ask
BuysFine and costume jewellery, Antique and mid-century furniture, Sterling silver, Art, Coins and collectibles, Entire estates
The dealTwo routes. They buy outright from individuals, handling anything from one item to entire estates, and they also run online auctions through an auction allocating service. Their site offers house calls "throughout Hamilton that are respectful and discreet" and describes a "no-fee/charge house call" starting with an appointment. The payment method is not specified, and no auction commission rate is published.
Where72 Charlton Ave W, Hamilton, ON L8P 2C3
An outright purchase and an auction consignment pay differently and on different timelines: a purchase is settled at the time, an auction pays after the sale, less a commission that is not published here. Ask which of the two they are proposing for each item, and what the commission and any lotting or photography charges would be, before anything leaves the house.

Pawn Kings (Hamilton)

Quote first Not stated — ask
BuysJewellery - rings, chains, watches, Electronics - TVs, game consoles, laptops, cameras, Power tools - drills, saws, compressors, Cellphones and car audio, Collectibles - action figures, coins, comic books, Guitars and bicycles
The dealTheir site describes a "Fast & Easy Buy-Back Process" - bring in your item, instant assessment, get cash - and tells you to "decide if your looking to sell your item or do a buy-back." That is the full extent of it. The pages on their own site do NOT state pawn-loan terms, an interest rate, fees or a redemption period. What is actually on offer has to be established in person or by phone.
Where501 Main St E, Hamilton, ON L8N 1K8
The business name contains 'Pawn' and the site offers a 'buy-back', but neither loan terms nor a redemption period is published. Before you hand anything over, establish in plain words which transaction you are doing: an outright sale, which is final, or an arrangement where you pay to get the item back, which is borrowing. If it is the second, get the rate, the total you must repay and the deadline in writing. A buy-back price is not the same as the price they paid you.

Pritchard Auctions Inc.

Buys or lends May collect — ask
BuysAntiques and antique furniture, Estate contents, from one item to a complete estate, Collectibles, Jewellery, Coins, Commercial goods
The dealTwo routes, both stated on their site. CONSIGNMENT to auction: "Consignments are always welcome - From 1 Item to complete Estates/Collections." OUTRIGHT PURCHASE: "We will purchase your Items outright." They also offer complete estate services including inventory, pack-up, rubbish removal, delivery and storage. No commission rate is published.
WhereDescribes itself as the busiest auctioneer in the Hamilton-Wentworth region for 34 years, with province-wide on-site auction service. No street address is published on their site - contact by phone.
Auction proceeds are settled after the sale at whatever is bid on the day, less commission; an outright purchase is settled at the time. Ask for the commission percentage, the buyer's premium and any lotting, photography or hauling charges, and when payment is issued - those charges determine what you actually clear.

Smart Gold

Buys outright Bring it to them
BuysGold and platinum jewellery, any condition, Palladium, Dental gold, Broken jewellery, Gold coins and bars, Silver bullion, Watches
Won't takeSilver jewellery, silver flatware and tableware, silver collectibles and silver coinage - their site posts this as a restriction dated 6 February 2026 and describes it as intended to be temporary; silver bullion is still accepted
The dealOutright purchase after evaluation. Their site publishes buying prices per gram and per ounce and states: "Prices are updated every 5 minutes and are the actual prices that you will receive." That is unusually transparent - it lets you weigh an item at home and work out the ballpark before you go.
Where195 Parkdale Ave N, Hamilton, ON L8H 5X3
The silver restriction is dated and described as temporary, so check the site or phone before hauling in flatware. No ID requirement is stated on their site, but other precious-metal buyers in the city require government photo ID, so take it with you.

The Reloved Boutique

Consignment Bring it to them
BuysCasual women's clothing - jeans, casual pants, tops, Footwear, Costume jewellery and accessories
Won't takeDirty, stained or heavily scented clothing, Bathing suits and bodysuits, Undergarments and sleepwear, Formal gowns - prom, bridal, bridesmaid, Luxury designer labels such as Chanel and Gucci
The dealConsignment with a published split, which is rare and worth knowing: their own wording is "When your item sells, 60% of the price goes to the boutique, and 40% goes to you, the consignor." Consignment runs in seasonal windows - roughly 15 February to 15 July for spring/summer and 15 August to 15 January for fall/winter - and you may drop off ONE bag per window. Funds accumulate in your account as items sell; you can take them as store credit with a 10% bonus, or request a payout of $20 or more by e-transfer or cheque, issued Tuesdays on request. Items they do not take are returned or donated at your choice.
Where226 James Street North, Hamilton, ON
You receive 40% of the selling price, and only after the item sells - there is no payment at drop-off. A cash payout requires a $20 minimum balance and is issued on request, not automatically. They do not take luxury designer labels, so those need a different route.
We could not verify this city’s municipal rules for second-hand dealers and pawnbrokers from an official source, so we state none. Check with the City or the province before relying on anything you read about them elsewhere.

Not sure what you have got?

Photograph it and we will tell you what it is and what it is worth — including when the honest answer is that it is worth nothing.

See what it's worth Donate it instead → Everything in Hamilton →

Other things in Hamilton

Clothes in other cities